Saturday, May 12, 2007

1865 Florida Dog Tax

Dog TaxThe 2007 edition of the Florida Tax Handbook says that in 1865, the Florida Legislature imposed a $2 tax on every dog over 6 months of age. The tax collector was directed to kill any dog for which the tax was not paid.

If you didn't pay the tax, it definitely meant that that dog don't hunt.

Luckily, things have changed for the better, but a $2 dog license these days would be be a great deal.

1 Comment:

Anonymous said...

I аll thе timе emailed this
website post ρagе tο аll my associates, bеcausе if lіκе tο
read it аfterward my contacts wіll toο.

Alѕo visit my blog; lloyd irvin